The Museum of Old Monaco is a museum of Monaco’s material heritage.
Open free of charge to visitors on Wednesdays and Fridays from 11am to 4pm from June to the end of September, the museum’s fundamental mission is to preserve the Monégasque identity. It was inaugurated in 1974 by Prince Rainier III and Princess Grace. Its objective? To showcase ceramics, paintings, furniture, costumes and more, as well as to show the Rock’s daily life from long ago.
Created in 1924 on the initiative of the representatives of old Monégasque families, the National Committee of Monégasque Traditions has the following missions :
- maintaining civil and religious traditions
- conserving and promoting the Monégasque language
- conserving Monégasque heritage
By doing this, civil and religious traditions are maintained. The Monégasque language, although no longer a common language of communication, is taught to young people in schools in Monaco and can be taken as part of the baccalaureate diploma. It is also taught to adults to encourage families to use it in daily life.
The Museum will remain closed until 2021 for major extension and renovation work.