Monaco ePrix

The little sister of Formula 1, Formula E (for electric) was born in 2014. It is a unique concept combining sport and sustainable development. This event is organised every two years, alternating with the Historic Grand Prix.

The event counts towards the FIA Formula E Championship. It took place for the first time on 9 May 2015 on the Monaco circuit. In the vast majority of cases, races are organised on temporary urban circuits. The event, which first took place on 9 May 2015, was the first ever ePrix to be held in Europe A particularly memorable moment was a pile-up, occuring after the first corner and involving seven drivers. The race was won by Sébastien Buemi, who became the first Formula E driver to score two wins.

Held alternately with the historic Monaco Grand Prix, the event disappeared from the calendar in 2016 and was replaced by the ePrix de Paris. It reappeared in 2017 and was again won by Sébastien Buemi. After an absence of one year, the circuit returned in 2019. The fourth edition will take place in May this year, in between the Historic Grand Prix and the Formula 1 Grand Prix.

The ePrix de Monaco is run on a shortened version of the 1,765 kilometre long Monaco circuit, making it the shortest circuit in Formula E. The circuit is more than 2 kilometres shorter than the original version used in Formula 1, as it does not take the Mirabeau climb after the Sainte-Devote bend, which is considered to be too energy consuming. However, thanks to the progress of the new generation of single-seaters, the E-Prix 2021 will be able to compete on the same circuit as F1.