Advertising »
Advertising »


The SPORTEL Awards 2018 and SPORTELMONACO 2018 are here!

Today marks the inception of the 2018 edition of the International Convention for Sport Business and Media, also known as SPORTELMonaco. The convention will be open from Monday October 22nd until Wednesday October 24th. As an exclamation point to the convention, the 29th edition of the SPORTEL AWARDS will be held on the evening of October 23rd at 8:30 PM. Both events will take place at the Grimaldi Forum in Monaco.



The three-day conference for sports marketing & media industry professionals offers companies an opportunity to expand their business and reach. The 2017 edition included over 1,000 companies mainly stemming from the broadcast TV and sports programming distribution sectors. Many see it as an exclusive opportunity to network with like-minded colleagues from around the world.


Some exciting speakers will bring their knowledge to the stage. The primary speaker is Javier Tebas, president of the top professional soccer league in Spain, La Liga. Under his leadership, which began in 2013, La Liga has experienced a steady growth in popularity. Tebas has successfully addressed many of the scandals (integrity, fair-play) that mired the organization when he first took office. Growing the league as an entertainment industry and proving that La Liga has more to offer than its two flagship teams, Real Madrid and Barcelona, has required savvy. Tebas will share his vision for the future with SPORTELMONACO attendees.

Other noteworthy speakers include Didier Deschamps, head coach of the current world champion men’s French national soccer team, his first assistant coach Guy Stephan, and their former teammate and 1998 World Cup winner Christian Karembeu. They will discuss the parallels and differences between the 1998 and 2018 victories, and their experiences of the two World Cups.

About the Sportel Awards

The Sportel Awards “are presented to the directors who have produced the best sports segments of the previous year, sequences that bring to the forefront the beauty of an action in sport and the emotion it arouses to on the screen.” They are known as the “Golden Podiums” or “Podiums d’Or” in French,

This year’s categories include Best Slow Motion, Discovery, Innovation, a Second Screen Prize, Best Promotion, Best Advertising, a Jury Prize, and the International Olympic Committee Grand Prize. Non-television related awards are the Sports Book Prize given by the Olympic Committee of Monaco, as well as the Peace and Sport Documentary Prize and the Autobiography prize. Each winner receives their prize from a sporting personality or champion who is also in attendance, often making for very emotional, exciting moments.

More information:

The Sportel Awards: